DIY Colorful Bobby Pins

25 Jul

I thought it would be a good idea to grow my bangs out this summer. I’m currently in a phase where they look awkward as bangs, and I can’t quite tuck them behind my ears. So I’ve been making use of bobby pins. The sad part is that my bobby pins are boring colors, and I lose them all the time. Here is the solution: bobby pins + nail polish. When I lose one of these, I can make another in five minutes. And yes, I’ve already lost some. This project hardly requires any sort of tutorial because it’s so easy, but I’ll give it to you anyway.

Here are your materials: Bobby pins, a sheet of cardboard, nail polish. Easy. The colors I used here are Essie Navigate Her (green), Essie Tart Deco (coral-ish), OPI Curry Up Don’t Be Late (gold), and Sephora by OPI Only Gold For Me (gold glitter). I used Essie No Chips Ahead as my top coat.

Slide your bobby pins (flat sides are what we’re painting here) onto the cardboard so you don’t get any stray paint on the other edge.

And then you just paint the pins as you would your nails. I do one or two layers of color and a layer of top coat. Make sure to lay it on thick to hide the color of the pin underneath. You don’t have to be super neat, but when I got giant puddles of nail polish around the bobby pin, I’d use the unpainted back side to move it away from the puddle. You can see that I did that for the green bobby pin above. For the gold pins on the right, I used a solid gold coat underneath and then a layer of gold glitter on top. Once painted, just let them dry, and you’re done. Don’t you feel so accomplished now? On a related note, I made a haircut appointment for tomorrow. I can’t handle life without bangs, even with colorful bobby pins.

One Response to “DIY Colorful Bobby Pins”

  1. ADetailedHouse July 25, 2012 at 11:20 AM #

    Love it!! I’m going to paint all my bobby pins!

Leave a Reply

