Chai Spice Pumpkin Kiss Cookies

20 Nov

So I’ve been a little negligent of the blogosphere. One reason is because I’ve been chowing down on fun-size candy bars instead of baking. Whoops. Another reason is that I learned to knit, and it’s become one of those things that consumes every spare moment in my life. Kind of like when I started watching Glee on Netflix. However, I did (finally) find some time and motivation to bake, and I made these chai spice pumpkin kiss cookies. They’re fairly simple (like any kiss cookie), and I like how festive they are. They’d make a great complement to any Thanksgiving get-together — especially for those who are afraid of making pies.

I found this recipe through Pinterest, and you can find the original here. I made a minor substitution with my ingredients, and I altered the process  slightly. These cookies are dense, but they have a great flavor.

You will need:

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, room temp.
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1/2 c. light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 Tbsp. pumpkin pie spice creamer (original recipe called for bourbon)
  • 1/2 c. mascarpone (not pictured)
  • 2 3/4 c. flour
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 bag of Hershey’s Pumpkin Kisses

You’ll notice that I chose to use pumpkin pie spice creamer instead of bourbon. This choice was made partially because I didn’t want to run to the liquor store and partially because I wanted to serve these cookies to children. I know the alcohol burns off, but it’s the principle of it all, people. So you can do whatever you please.

The first step is to cream the butter with the sugar and brown sugar until it’s light and fluffy. Next, add the egg, vanilla extract and pumpkin spice creamer (or bourbon). Finally, mix in the mascarpone until it’s well combined.

Sift together the dry ingredients, and mix it together with the other ingredients until it looks like cookie batter. Now throw it into the refrigerator for at least a half hour. The recipe I followed said to scoop the cookies first and refrigerate them, but I don’t have that sort of refrigerator room. So I just chilled the bowl, and it worked just fine.

Preheat your oven to 350°F. Take your favorite cookie scoop (or spoon), and create batter balls that are no more than an inch in diameter. Pop these in the oven for about 15 to 20 minutes, rotating the trays halfway through. Keep an eye on them to make sure they don’t burn. You might need more or less time than I did. My cooking time varied wildly from the original recipe.

While your cookies are baking, unwrap the kisses and put them in a bowl. You might also want to pop them in the freezer until you’re ready to use them.

As soon as your cookies are done baking, take a kiss and gently press it into the center of each cookie. Then remove the cookies from the pan, and place them on a wire rack to cool. I put my wire racks in the freezer for about 15 minutes to make sure the kisses didn’t melt into one giant blob. I don’t know if this is a personal problem, but my kiss cookies tend to become chocolate blob cookies, and I think these kisses are especially prone to melting. So if you want to make sure they keep their shape, pop the racks in the freezer. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

