Cinnamon Butter Puffs: Lazy Saturday Breakfast

4 Mar

Tea Time & Tulle | Cinnamon Butter Puffs

Saturday morning I woke up wanting to make breakfast. But I didn’t want to sit around and wait for bread to rise, and I didn’t want to go to the grocery store. I dug out my favorite cookbook of all time — The Breakfast Book — and I found this perfect recipe. They were done less than an hour after I woke up, and they’re delicious. These puffs are a little more dense than normal muffins, but they’re sweet without being too sweet and have a subtle nutmeg flavor. I’m in love.

Tea Time & Tulle | Cinnamon Butter Puffs

I don’t know if I’ve said this before, but I love this cookbook. The Breakfast Book by Marion Cunningham has yet to provide me with a recipe that’s anything less than superb. You should seriously consider owning it. For this recipe, I decided to change a few minor things. I used a mini muffin pan instead of the traditional size so I could trick myself into thinking it was okay to eat five at a time. The recipe also calls for an exorbitant amount of butter for the topping, but I’ll get to that later.

Tea Time & Tulle | Cinnamon Butter Puffs

This makes about two dozen mini puffs. You will need:

  • 1/3 c. shortening
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 c. flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 c. milk

For the topping, you also need a half stick of melted butter and 1/2 c. sugar combined with 1 tsp. cinnamon.

Preheat the oven to 350°F, and grease the muffin tins.

Beat together the shortening, sugar, and egg in a mixing bowl. Mix together the flour, baking powder, salt, and nutmeg, and add to the first mixture. Pour in the milk, and beat until well blended.

Fill the muffin tins about two-thirds full, and bake about 20 minutes until lightly golden. Once they’re out of the oven, take each puff and dip the top into the melted butter. The original recipe says to dip the entire muffin into the butter, but I found that the cinnamon sugar stuck to the rest of the warm puff without butter just fine. You could probably leave out the butter entirely, but I think it gives the top a nice little crunch. With or without butter, roll the entire puff in the cinnamon sugar mixture, and set on a plate. Eat immediately, or save them for later. They’re great either way.

Tea Time & Tulle | Cinnamon Butter Puffs.

Leave a Reply

